Update on the big “C” 1/29/13

So far we are starting off the New Year “on the right foot”! I have had a couple of chemo treatments thus far and due to my reduced dosage, my side effects have been minimal and I have felt better than ever. Just to refresh you, my oncologist has reduced my chemo intake due to the ablations; they don’t want to strain my liver any more than necessary. The neuropathy in my fingers has somewhat subsided and the only other issues that bother me on a daily basis is the shortness of breath and difficulty swallowing certain dry and meaty foods (salmon, white chicken meat). Both of these issues are directly related to where my primary tumor resides at the GE junction. Heck, I like walking and for the most part, I eat a diet that consists of about 85% vegetables anyways so its not a problem!

I just got back from an appointment with my oncologist at Emory and he told me the following… My primary tumor and liver lesions continue to shrink at a slow pace. This is good news considering that it is not spreading! I still have two small spots on my liver (one on the front and one on the back) that he recommends that we go ahead and ablate anyways even though they have been reducing in size every four weeks. So, I have another ablation scheduled for 2/5/13 and the last on 3/5/13. Due to the location, they cannot take care of both of them in one procedure. No big deal because all four of the recently ablated lesions were still shown as “Dead Tissue” on the MRI that I had completed Saturday!

Fortunately, due to some recent business travel, I have been able to keep my sanity (somewhat) throughout this marathon. After the last ablation, I was told that I could not exercise for 3 weeks and it was brutal!

Here is my new treatment schedule:

1/30/13: Chemo Treatment #20

2/5/13: Ablation # 3

2/13/13: Chemo Treatment #21

2/18/13: Endoscopy

2/27/13: Chemo Treatment #22

3/5/13: Ablation #4

3/13/13: Chemo Treatment #23

3/25/13: Chemo Treatment # 24

3/27/13: MRI and CT Scan- Progress Update

4/4/13: Appointment with Oncologist to discuss scans. I think at this point we should get some direction on my surgery options.

4/13/13: ONE YEAR to date of when the mass was found, hard to believe it has only been one year; feels like 10! ha ha

I cannot thank you enough for the continued love and support that you have shown our family over the last 9.5 months. We love each and every one of you. Now I am off to take a spin on the bike, it is 71 degrees outside with not a cloud in the sky!

Get busy living or get busy dying,

Hayden

14 thoughts on “Update on the big “C” 1/29/13

  1. Such good news, Hayden! Love your optimism …you share that with your Father-In-Law, Johnny. So many of us love you and your family and are praying that this will be over sooner than later and that you will once again be whole and healthy and certainly happy. Keep following those directions: treatment, exercise, and healthy eating!
    Love, Sherrill

  2. Great update! Can’t believe its been almost a year either! You’ve come so far in the last year and the light is shining bright and big at the end of the tunnel!

  3. Great news — what a marathon! But we continue to be so grateful for the progress you are making and our prayers continue.

    You are AMAZING!!

    Bob and Carolyn

  4. Thank you Hayden for your letters. You are a very strong man. Your wife is a strong woman….she has to be because it must be extremely difficult for her too. Stupid statement, isn’t it? It is all obvious…well I wanted to write it anyway. I feel that it is going to be okay. I have everything crossed….my fingers, eyes, toes…that is the worst part …sure is difficult walking.
    Love to you, your wife your brother and last but not leasr your Mom, my dear friend
    Priscilla

  5. So glad to hear continued good news. We miss seeing you at the gym, hopefully we will see you soon…. Lifetime needs Team Hayden back in the mix! Sending more good thoughts and prayers your way.

  6. Hayden,
    That is all good news! You’re attitude is such in inspiration. God bless you. Please let me know when you’re in the hospital so I can come up and see you.
    Jill (your nurse in CDU

  7. Continuing with good positive thoughts and prayers for your entire family! Positive mental attitude is an absolute must!!! You are making great gains–hang in there, kiddo! Have relived my own throat cancer bout reading some of your posts–I am now a 12 year survivor! You will be, too! Ann Olson

  8. Hello Hayden and Shelly,
    Happy New Year!!!! Sorry we’ve been missing you at Emory. Sounds like 2013 is showing improvement for you and yours. We heard about your little Grace from Pam. Now a new puppy should keep you 2 out of trouble.
    You continue to be in our prayers. We know that prayers work because as of Jan. 31st, David has been declared CANCER FREE!!!!!!
    We’ll look forward to the same for you, Hayden! In fact, we claim it for you!
    Continued good progress.
    God Bless You!!
    Connie and David Waller

  9. Wow, Hayden, you are an amazing young man–my prayers are with you and your whole family every SINGLE night and then some!!!!!!! Cancer sucks! Sending my love and good wishes to you! Love Sue Servine

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

