The Roller Coaster Continues- 6/4/13

Hey, guys. We’ve had some recent news that I want to share with you all. Over the past few weeks I’ve had a series of tests performed (on me) to ensure I was 100% ready for surgery. Those tests included another MRI, CT Scan, PET Scan and meeting with both the chief of surgery as well as a thoracic surgeon.

My MRI and CT Scan were performed about 3 weeks ago and after these tests, I was immediately notified that I have a blood clot in my left lung. This is not necessarily bad news, and may not even be cancer related, but is a complication that could delay surgery for 2-3 months.

Now, here’s the hard part to discuss. We received my PET Scan results late yesterday afternoon. We discovered that I’ve had some new cancer activity show up in a few of my lymph nodes (upper chest and lower back). Honestly, these enlarged nodes could have been there this entire time, but, they were just noticed due to the increased sensitivity of the PET scan versus the CT scan I had a few weeks ago. My primary tumor and liver still appear to be in stable condition, and unfortunately the doctors are not willing to perform surgery at this time because the cancer is considered “active”. Again, we cannot have the surgery if there is any “active” cancer due to the fact that I wont be able to have chemo before and after surgery (we don’t want the cancer to proliferate while I am
recovering). Anyhow, every problem has a solution right? Well, after a long meeting with our Oncologist today, they’ve agreed to change up my chemo regimen to eliminate / fight the cancer. I am hopeful that this new drug (Docetaxel) works and we will have another CT scan in about 8 weeks to see if the drug is effective.

I don’t ever ask much of anybody, but I am asking each of you, near or far, that you send your love, prayers, and good vibes to our family. I want to get healthy and put this behind me! I am strong as hell, I am determined to win, and I am NOT going to take no for an answer.

Here is my upcoming treatment schedule:

Chemo @ St Joes: 6/5, 6/25, 7/16

Much love,

THB

43 thoughts on “The Roller Coaster Continues- 6/4/13

  1. I am thinking of you and your family and keep all in my heart and prayers. I wear my Team Hayden band daily in hope that banding together you gain strength in fighting this illness.

  2. Hayden, we are sending continuous prayers of strength and resilience and healing to you. You will beat this!

  3. Not the news you wanted … the battle continues. You are strong Hayden (half the battle) and you are determined to win (half the battle). Together you have what it takes to come out a winner … I will pray that this chemo is effective and that the cancer cells die.Don’t lose your fighting spirit, ever!
    Love to you, Shellie and your extended families.
    p.s. you have all this going on and i am the one that has the canker sore on my lower lip! My life is like paradise compared to what you all are going through. Praying for you especially hard on June 5, June 25, and July 16.

  4. Hayden – Sending prayers and good vibes your way. Keep fighting like you have been…nothing you can’t beat.

  5. We are praying for you during this time. I know the test results must be discouraging, but stay strong and positive! You can beat this!

    Melanie & Tim

  6. You have our constant love and our prayers Hayden! You look so good and so healthy it is hard to believe that you could have any cancer cells! We are confident the new drug will eliminate these cells and that you will have no active cancer cells once you compete this next series! Keep the faith! Stay stronge!
    Jean and Charlie

  7. Hayden, Randy and I think of you often. Hope you remember who we are, friends of sue and sam. Anyway, we are sending strong prayers your way. You are such a strong person and we know you will beat this. Your attitude and determination are amazing. We send our best to you and your family. Brooke and Randy!

  8. Hayden – we have been inspired watching your resilience from afar. We’ll keep praying for strength for you and that the ultimate Healer, Our God, would be so near to you and your family.

  9. Denny and I are lifting you both up. We pray for healing, for peace that surpasses all understanding, and joy that keeps you fighting. We LOVE you guys. Keep fighting, keep pressing on.

    Denny & Lindsay Kolsc

  10. Everyone at Northview has you and your family in our prayers. The Blanchard’s are a determined and fighting bunch. I know this because I know Angie and I see her hope and determination every day. God Bless.
    Donagh Sender

  11. My thoughts are with you and the whole family. NEVER GIVE UP! You’ve got this cancer on the run – and you WILL beat it!

  12. I haven;t missed a day OR night when you, Shelly, Parker, your Mom and Jennifer have been prayed for . Your attitude is such that it certainly should have heavy impact on your process of healing, Hayden. My frustation is that I can not do more for you
    Much love to all, Pricilla

  13. We will continue to pray for you the novena to Saint Peregrine, the patron saint of cancer patients may he heal you as he was cured. May he bring his blessings and put this all to rest as a distant past and end it in this year. Let his miraculous wonders come upon you stronger than he has ever done before! Believe in it and it will happen – mind over matter and you have had this mental strength the entire ride so we believe it will!! Love and strong deep prayers, B & N

  14. Hayden- I know this wasn’t the news you wanted to hear, BUT you have the strength and support to beat this cancer. There is no doubt in my mind! Good luck with your treatment tomorrow. You can do it!
    Love, Katherine and Pierce

  15. I just read your blog after seeing several friends on Facebook praying for you! I remember William talking about you and your brother in highschool! I pray and hope that you will heal from all of this! You have so many people supporting you! What an inspiration you are to all of us! Prayers from my family to yours.;)

  16. Hayden! Keep fighting my man. Your words and more importantly your walk is powerful stuff. We will be thinking about you here in Augusta. Take care.

    David and Clare

  17. Hayden, all good wishes and prayers for courage & strength & full healing
    Love Love
    Margaret Dunstan

  18. Hayden
    You are gonna beat this.
    Your courage and determination will see you through. Your Mother is an amazing woman who will always have my love ans support. Hugs to Shelley and Parker.

    Martha Bernstein
    Your NHS Family

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

